Bioggio is home to a complex of Roman buildings which includes workshops, baths, and a sacred space whose small Roman temple was later followed by a church which was rebuilt several times between the 5th and 6th centuries and 1773. The whole site was investigated in the 1990s by Ticino's archaeological service. Its privileged location on the route across the Alps means that Bioggio has always been an important point of transit. A new circular walk allows you to discover its archaeological landmarks on foot.
Archaeological pathway in Bioggio and Museo Plebano in Agno.
Access & Contact
The site is located in the centre of Bioggio, between the church of San Maurizio and the cemetery. By car: Exit Lugano-Nord, direction Ponte Tresa to Bioggio. The Museo Plebano is in Agno. Follow the signs to the museum.
10 minutes walking-distance from Bioggio Station.
The key of the archaeological site can be withdrawn at: Municipio di Bioggio Cancelleria Comunale 6934 Bioggio Tel 091 611 10 50
Contact: Ufficio dei beni culturali Viale Stefano Franscini 30a 6500 Belinzona Tel 091 814 13 80